Insight

Medicaid denture coverage patterns across the 50 states

What the 51 state Medicaid denture rules show read together: how many cover adult dentures, how often they pay again, which cap the benefit, which need approval.

Data read September 28, 2026

The state-by-state table answers one question per state. Read across all 51 rules at once, the conditions are the story: 39 programs cover adult dentures, but 24 of the 51 attach prior authorization or approval, 15 state how many years must pass before they pay again, 10 put a dollar figure in the rule, and 4 use the word “lifetime” (one denture per arch for life in Pennsylvania; one lost pair, one immediate denture or one replacement per lifetime elsewhere). This page is those patterns, computed from the same rows.

The three verdicts

Adult denture coverage under Medicaid, 50 states and DC
Covers adult dentures39 of 51
Limited or conditional5 of 51
No adult denture benefit7 of 51

Counts from the state-by-state table on this page; every state's entry carries its program source.

76% of programs cover adult dentures outright. The 7 that do not (Alabama, Arizona, Maryland, Mississippi, New Mexico, Texas, Wyoming) mostly run emergency-only adult benefits; the 5 limited programs (Delaware, Missouri, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Vermont) cover a narrow group or repairs only.

How often a program pays again

Replacement interval stated in the adult denture rule, 15 programs
Every 5 years6 programs
Every 6 years1 program
Every 7 years3 programs
Every 8 years2 programs
Every 10 years3 programs

Where a program states different intervals for complete and partial dentures, the complete-denture interval is counted.

15 of the 44 covering programs state a replacement interval in the rule we read. Five years is the most common; Louisiana, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon stretch to eight or ten. Connecticut and Hawaii also state a reline interval (2 yrs). Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Pennsylvania write “lifetime” into the rule somewhere: Pennsylvania for the denture itself (one per arch, with an exception process for more), the others for a lost pair, an immediate denture or a replacement. The replacement timeline checker sets a denture’s age against these intervals.

Caps, fees and prior authorization

10 rules carry a dollar figure. Some are caps on the whole adult dental benefit that dentures fall under or are exempt from; some are the benefit itself. In the rule’s own summary:

StateWhat the rule says
AlaskaDentures covered under the adult enhanced dental benefit, capped at $1,150 per state fiscal year (July 1-June 30);
ArizonaGeneral adult (21+) dental benefit is emergency-only, up to $1,000 per contract year, and the AHCCCS medical policy manual states dentures are not covered;
Arkansasadult dental services otherwise limited to $500 per state fiscal year (benefit-limit screen in the same deck).
Coloradoadults have a $3,000 yearly (July 1-June 30) limit but emergency services and dentures do not count toward it;
Delaware$1,000/calendar year plus up to $1,500 extended emergency benefit with prior authorization, $3 co-pay per visit) covers denture repairs, relines and replacement of broken denture parts, but new complete or partial denture fabrication codes are not on the adult covered-code list, so new dentures are not a listed benefit.
South CarolinaThe general adult (21+) benefit is diagnostic, preventive, restorative, extractions and adjunctive services capped at $1,000 per state fiscal year - removable prosthodontics is NOT in that list, so dentures are not covered for typical adults.
South Dakotadentures and partials are exempt from the $2,000/year (July 1-June 30) adult dental cap
TexasExceptions: Medicaid residents of ICF-IID facilities 21+ get dental, and the STAR+PLUS HCBS waiver covers dentures up to a $5,000/ISP-year cap for waiver members
VermontGeneral adult dental is otherwise capped at $1,500 per calendar year
West VirginiaDentures are included in the expanded adult dental benefit (effective 2/1/2021) but count against the $1,000-per-calendar-year adult dental cap, so a denture can exhaust most of the year's benefit;
Sentences containing a dollar figure, from each program’s rule summary on the state table.

Prior authorization or approval is mentioned in 24 rules (47%). In practice that means the dentist submits the case before the program agrees to pay, which is where the replacement interval and any medical-necessity test get applied.

Every program on one table

StateAdult denturesInterval statedPrior authorizationDollar figure in the rule
AlabamaNonot statednot mentionednone
AlaskaYesnot statedmentioned$1,150
ArizonaNonot statednot mentioned$1,000
ArkansasYesnot statedmentioned$500
CaliforniaYesnot statednot mentionednone
ColoradoYesnot statednot mentioned$3,000
ConnecticutYes7 yrs; relines 2 yrsmentionednone
DelawareLimitednot statedmentioned$1,000, $1,500, $3
District of ColumbiaYes5 yrsnot mentionednone
FloridaYesnot statednot mentionednone
GeorgiaYesnot statedmentionednone
HawaiiYes5 yrs; relines 2 yrsmentionednone
IdahoYesnot statednot mentionednone
IllinoisYesnot statedmentionednone
IndianaYes6 yrsmentionednone
IowaYes5 yrsnot mentionednone
KansasYesnot statednot mentionednone
KentuckyYesnot statedmentionednone
LouisianaYes8 yrsnot mentionednone
MaineYesnot statednot mentionednone
MarylandNonot statednot mentionednone
MassachusettsYes7 yrsmentionednone
MichiganYesnot statednot mentionednone
MinnesotaYesnot statedmentionednone
MississippiNonot statedmentionednone
MissouriLimitednot statedmentionednone
MontanaYescomplete 10 yrs, partial 5 yrsnot mentioned$1205
NebraskaYesper lifetimementioned$750
NevadaYes5 yrsmentionednone
New HampshireLimitednot statednot mentioned$1500
New JerseyYesnot statedmentionednone
New MexicoNonot statednot mentionednone
New YorkYesnot statedmentionednone
North CarolinaYescomplete 10 yrs, partial 8 yrsmentionednone
North DakotaYes7 yrsmentionednone
OhioYes8 yrsmentionednone
OklahomaYesnot statedmentionednone
OregonYescomplete 10 yrs, partial 5 yrsnot mentionednone
PennsylvaniaYesper lifetimenot mentionednone
Rhode IslandYesnot statednot mentionednone
South CarolinaLimitednot statednot mentioned$1,000
South DakotaYes5 yrsnot mentioned$2,000
TennesseeYesnot statednot mentionednone
TexasNonot statednot mentioned$5,000
UtahYesnot statedmentionednone
VermontLimited5 yrsnot mentioned$1,500
VirginiaYesnot statednot mentionednone
WashingtonYesnot statedmentionednone
West VirginiaYesnot statednot mentioned$1,000
WisconsinYes5 yrsmentionednone
WyomingNonot statednot mentionednone
All 51 programs, read September 28, 2026. Intervals, authorization mentions and dollar figures are read out of each rule’s summary by pattern; “not stated” means the rule we read does not state one, not that none exists. Each state links to the rule and its source.

How this page is made

This page is generated from the same data table its reference page carries, on every rebuild, so it can never disagree with the table. Read it with the caveats of the source data: published prices are starting figures at the office that published them; program rules are summaries of what we read on a stated date and the program’s page controls; register counts are registrations, not availability. If a figure is wrong, tell us.

More insights and the reference behind this one